Browsing Category

product review

Posted on August 24, 2018

10 remarkable photos captured with the Huawei P20 Lite camera

product review

Photography isn’t exactly my strongest suit. Thankfully, with a top quality camera like that of the Huawei P20 Lite, it doesn’t have to be.

I recently put the 16MP dual camera to the  test to see how it would capture photographs of nature – otherwise known as my first stab at flower photography.

Since I am no professional photographer, I didn’t have the photo settings in Pro Photo mode. I kept the standard photo settings, used natural light and let the Huawei P20 Lite work its magic.

As you can see from the above photo gallery, this premiere build handset captured stunning shots that are all bright, clear and in full HD.

Who knows…

Maybe flower photography wouldn’t be the worst thing to get into, now that I have this absolute gem of a cam 😉

Twitter   Facebook   Instagram

Price: The Huawei P20 Lite ranges from €259.99 (Three Network) to €369.00 (Harvey Norman) to find out more about this phone, be sure to read my related posts below 🙂

Related Posts

  • 10000
    If you're one of my loyal Instagram followers, then you would know that I have recently been made a brand ambassador for Huawei – I know, exciting times! 😀 As an ambassador for the Huawei brand, I was kindly sent a P20 Lite to mother and nurture (which essentially means…
  • 10000
    As you probably know from my Instagram stories, last Thursday saw yet another picturesque region of Ireland being ticked off my lengthy travel bucket list. Myself and my gal Lorna drove up to beautiful county Wicklow to celebrate the launch of the Garden Rooms & Bar at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf…
  • 10000
    Missguided is famously known for its statement looks and affordable fashion picks. But following the successful launch of its debut fragrance, Babe Power, the fashion powerhouse will now be loved for its bargain fragrances too. The fashion brand has recently added three new fragrances to join Babe Power, the orange…
Posted on August 9, 2018

3 simple steps to soften coarse hair

product review

3 simple steps to soften coarse hair using Organic Shop products

Anyone who knows me personally would tell you that I suffer from what I like to call an identity crisis between hairstyles. Why? Simply because years of hiding my natural hair under weaves, wigs, braids and extensions has led me to believe that my beauty is reliant on them. So much so that whenever the time comes for me to style my hair au naturel I’m left at my wits’ end.

This week, I decided to make a brave decision of letting my hair down – my actual hair. No weaves, wigs, braids or extensions were going to get in the way of me giving my fro the TLC that I have regrettably been depriving it of.

Before I made the decision to let my fro down, I had to make sure I had the right products to help me see it through and thanks to the Organic Shop products provided by Skinfull Affairs, I didn’t have to worry about that.

Organic Shop’s multi-power Avocado & Honey hair collection was specially developed to restore and soften coarse hair meaning I had the privilege of giving my fro an at-home salon treatment using three products from this vitamin-rich range. As a result, my hair was left softer, smoother and so much easier to manage. As for me? I was left with a smile on my face that had nothing to do with new a new weave.

So without further ado, here are the three simple steps I followed to achieve tangle-free and vibrant hair using Organic Shop Avocado & Honey hair range 🙂

Step 1:

Organic Shop Avocado & Honey Repairing Shampoo

Organic Shop Avocado & Honey Repairing Shampoo | PRICE: €5.50

Wash with Organic Shop Avocado & Honey Repairing Shampoo which helps to bring back vitality to the hair. The vitamin-packed honey restores shine to lifeless hair while keeping frizz under control.

Step 2:

Organic Shop Avocado & Honey Repairing Conditioner

Organic Shop Avocado & Honey Repairing Conditioner | PRICE: €5.50

Condition with Organic Shop Avocado & Honey Repairing Conditioner which helps soften parched hair. This intense repairing conditioner helps soften the hair while adding a natural shine to it. Leave on for 1 – 2 minutes before rinsing.

Step 3:

Organic Shop Avocado & Honey Hair Mask

Organic Shop Avocado & Honey Hair Mask | €5.50

Finish by massaging Organic Shop Avocado & Honey Hair Mask thoroughly onto the hair and scalp. For an intensive treatment, leave mask on for 30 minutes. This will help make the hair more manageable and tangle-free.

Do you have any go to products for softening your hair? If so, I would love to know!  Tweet me @FilomenaKagauko 🙂

Twitter   Facebook   Instagram

*Please note that these products were gifted to me, but all views remain my own.

Posted on August 7, 2018

Missguided Boss Babe VS Babe Dreams

product review

Missguided is famously known for its statement looks and affordable fashion picks. But following the successful launch of its debut fragrance, Babe Power, the fashion powerhouse will now be loved for its bargain fragrances too.

The fashion brand has recently added three new fragrances to join Babe Power, the orange blossom scented perfume which sold in under three hours following its 2017 launch – it goes without saying that Babe Power set the bar quite high for the three new fragrances, Boss Babe, Babe Dreams, and Babe Oud. 

Thankfully, the sensual notes of the new trio have an equally hypnotic effect so if you need a new fragrance (maybe even a dupe perfume for a high end brand) then I’ve got you covered 🙂

Boss Babe

Missguided Boss Babe, 80 ml, €38.00

Missguided Boss Babe 80 ml | PRICE: €38.00

When I first tried Boss Babe, it immediately reminded me of YSL Black Opium, one of my favourite Autumn fragrances. Since it closely matched one of my favourite scents of all time, it’s only natural that I fell in love with Boss Babe almost instantly.

While the heart of this perfume is centered around a “delicious mix of pistachio and creamy almond milk,” the note that stands out to me the most is the warm vanilla scent. It lingers on for hours after usage, ensuring you enter every room with a warm feminine aroma.

Like Babe Dreams, and the other fragrances from this line, the packaging is incredibly trendy and it really reflects the Missguided brand as we know it – so much yes! 🙂

Babe Dreams

Missguided Babe Dreams , €80ml, €38.00

Missguided Babe Dreams 80ml | PRICE: €38.00

Babe Dreams, strikes me as a light and fruity summer fragrance. It is described as a “sophisticated and inspiring chypre fragrance with a modern twist.” Personally, I think the sweet mix of velvet rose, pink pepper, violet and patchouli would blow anyone away, especially since it is refreshing light!

Much like Boss Babe, this perfume lasts for hours. About two or three spritz lasts a full day and if you’re a dancing diva, then you won’t ever have to worry about constantly reapplying this perfume on a night out.

Overall, it is fresh, young and girlie! 🙂

Final Verdict

Babe Dreams is incredibly feminine but also quite young. I find it less sensual and sexy in comparison to Boss Babe. However, I do think it would make for the perfect everyday perfume.

Boss Babe has more of a mature and womanly fragrant. Due to the fusion of floral scents with vanilla and musk, I think it is a scent that can be worn throughout the year and not just one season.

Between the two of these incredible perfumes, I think Boss Babe definitely hits it out of the park. The fact that it closely matches YSL Black Opium for just a fraction of the price is just the cherry on top! 😉

Have you ever tried any of these fragrances? If so, I’d love to know which is your favourite! Tweet me @FilomenaKaguako x

Twitter   Facebook   Instagram

*These products were gifted to me at the launch party of the new fragrances, but all views remain my own. You can purchase them on Missguided, The Fragrance Shop and Boots.

Related Posts

  • 10000
    If there is one sure thing that makes me immediately fall in love with a beauty product, it is how much I am captivated by its fragrance. Whether it's a hair serum, a hand lotion or any other product whose primary function is completely unrelated to how it smells, what…
  • 10000
    There’s nothing worse than setting your eyes on a new lippy, falling in love with it and then realising that it is way over your normal lipstick budget. ‘Steal or splurge?’ is the question I find myself asking when I’m trying to decide how badly I really need –or want…
  • 10000
    With sunny season coming to an end, we’ll soon have to say goodbye to summer attire like open-toe sandals, crop tops and sun dresses. It’s not long until light clothing will be replaced by heavy coats, and scarves and winter boots will become a regular part of our #ootd While…
Posted on July 21, 2018

5 things you should know about the Huawei P20 Lite

product review

If you’re one of my loyal Instagram followers, then you would know that I have recently been made a brand ambassador for Huawei – I know, exciting times! 😀

As an ambassador for the Huawei brand, I was kindly sent a P20 Lite to mother and nurture (which essentially means I had to get rid of my beloved Samsung).

Admittedly, the initial transition from my Galaxy S6 to my P20 Lite proved to be rather tricky. But ever since I welcomed  it to my home, I have grown to love it like my old!

I transferred all my apps (except WhatsApp) to my new phone and have been using it daily ever since.  A month in and I’m now ready to report back on my newly found love for the Huawei brand, but more specifically my Huawei P20 Lite.

So without further ado, here are 5 things you should know about the Huawei P20 Lite:

1. Camera Goals

Huawei P20 Lite Review

The Huawei P20 Lite is most praised for its remarkable camera. The 16MP dual cam  (+2MP selfie camera) has unbelievable features, from pro-photo setting to shooting in pro-video mode, you can always rely on this top quality camera to capture clear, sharp and bright shots.

Unedited photo taken with my Huawei P20 Lite

One of my favourite things about taking the perfect snap with this phone is its editing capacity. The splash feature allows you to transform a colourful photo to black and white and then highlight one colour (or more) of your choosing! Case in point:

Edited using the Splash feature

Another nifty editing option is the Illusion, which allows you to blur out the background of a photo that you have already taken in order to place emphasis on your main subject.

Edited using Illusion feature

I tend not to overly edit my photos in general and I am not privy to the likes of PicsArt. So having these editing tools available on a phone are just perfect for me! 🙂

2. Super Lightweight

As much as this phone is packed with some useful features, I do think it is important to note that it is doing pretty well in the looks department too….

This stunner of a smart phone is slim, incredibly lightweight and despite having a 5.84-inch display, it feels pretty small in the hand. It has a strong metal frame with a hardened glass body giving it a lovely feel. Cherry on top? This smooth and tactile phone is suited for one hand usage!

3. Battery Life

The battery life on the Huawei P20 Lite is truly a breath of fresh air. It is the only phone I’ve ever felt confident enough to leave my house with sans charger! When I used my Samsung, I used to carry a battery pack nearly everywhere with me.

The P20 Lite on the other hand has both a power saving mode and an ultra power saving mode. The latter adds over 24 hours of battery life to the phone once it’s activated! You can literally take your phone out of a Friday and not have to worry about charging it again until Sunday morning – I think I’m festival ready! 😅

4. Maximum Security

Another stand out feature of the P20 Lite is the security settings. This handset has a rear-mounted fingerprint sensor to unlock the screen. But if you ever find yourself with sticky fingers (for reasons I will not judge you for) then you can use face recognition in the front-facing camera to detect, recognise and unlock your phone instead!

Whichever you choose, both of these security options mean nobody can ever go through your phone without your physical presence. Should this improbable incident ever occur, you needn’t worry because you can keep certain files, audio, documents, photos or videos (again, no judgment) in the file safe by encrypting confidential files.

If that isn’t ultimate phone security goals then I don’t know what is! 🙂

5. Mid-range price

If you want a premium build and design phone packed with unbelievable features for an affordable price, then the Huawei P20 Lite is definitely a phone you should consider. Given all its wonderful features (which you can further explore on the Huawei website), the P20 Lite is set at a very reasonable price, yet in more ways than one it is on par with some of the other cool phones in the P20 family!

Price: It ranges from €259.99 (Three Network) to €369.00 (Harvey Norman).

Selfie camera with face beauty set on normal selfie mode. Unedited and Unfiltered.

Are you #TeamHuawei ? If so! I’d love to hear from you! Tweet me @FilomenaKaguako <3

Twitter   Facebook   Instagram

Related Posts

  • 10000
    I was recently introduced to LOTD.com and since then, it has been my go-to site for making last minute online purchases. While I usually plan my outfit weeks before an upcoming event, there have been times when I've needed to make quick decisions on what to to wear before a…
  • 10000
    As you probably know from my Instagram stories, last Thursday saw yet another picturesque region of Ireland being ticked off my lengthy travel bucket list. Myself and my gal Lorna drove up to beautiful county Wicklow to celebrate the launch of the Garden Rooms & Bar at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf…
  • 10000
    I can already sense some of you diehard fitness fanatics judging me as I write this. But before you start going on a rampage about how much you dislike the idea of teatoxing, do hear me out. I was in no shape or form trying to lose a ton of…
  • 34
    Photography isn't exactly my strongest suit. Thankfully, with a top quality camera like that of the Huawei P20 Lite, it doesn't have to be. I recently put the 16MP dual camera to the  test to see how it would capture photographs of nature - otherwise known as my first stab…
    Tags: lite, huawei, camera, phone, price, mp, dual, mode
Posted on May 15, 2018

Top tips for protecting your skin against the sun

product review

As a nation that isn’t always blessed with a natural dosage of vitamin D from the sun, we have been pretty lucky lately. The high temperatures over the weekend almost had me wanting to leave the house in a swimsuit -not to mention the amazing weather we have today! But being the ‘conservative Irish girl’ that I am, I had to resist the urge to give in to this socially unacceptable behaviour (if you don’t get the joke, then you simply do not cyber stalk me enough, hashtag just saying).

But back to skin protection and the misconception that black people do not need to wear any – I know, zero to one hundred, how do I do it? I can imagine some pro-black melanin proud individuals reading this, and thinking ‘how dare she?’ But I’m sorry to break it to you, your melanin is no guarantee against skin cancer. We all need to protect our skin from the external environment, regardless of skin colour or tone.

If you are one of my day one followers, then you would know that I am quite an advocacte for sunscreen, even on days when it isn’t sunny (which is most days in the Great emerald Isle). I’ve spoken about this previously, so without delving too deep into the reasons why you should protect your skin from UV rays throughout the year, I’m going to be discussing some of the sun protection products I’ve been trying over the past few weeks and then give you some top sun protection tips from the experts themselves 🙂

 

Uriage Bariésun Spray SPF 50*

Uriage Bariésun Spray SPF 50+

Uriage Bariésun Spray SPF 50+and Uriage Lip Balm

“Uriage Bariésun Spray SPF 50+ is a very high protection sun lotion which has been enriched in Uriage Thermal Water which provides moisturizing and protective properties. This lotion is hypoallergenic, and designed to sensitive skins.”

This spray quickly made it to my list of must-have summer products after only one use. Unlike some other sunscreens I have tried in the past, this doesn’t leave any grease or a white hue. It absorbs in the skin very quickly and almost leaves a mattifying affect on the skin. It is super light and has a pleasant fragrance too.

  • Final Verdict: Out of all the sunscreen products I  have tried in the past, this is by far my favourite!
  • Rating: 1000% yes
  • Price: €30, pharmacies nationwide and www.uriage.ie

Payot Sun Sensi Spray Protector SPF 30*

Payot’s Sun Sensi Spray Protecteur Anti-Age SPF30

Payot Sun Sensi Spray Protecteur Anti-Age SPF30

“Payot’s Sun Sensi Spray Protecteur Anti-Age SPF30 is an airy-light, invisible, non-greasy, cooling milky mist that provides high protection against UVA and UVB rays for the body. It is water-resistant and has  anti-ageing benefits.”

This high protection sun screen is air-light, water resistant and has anti-aging properties. It provides and SPF of 30 and is best used every two hours. Unlike the Uriage spray, this payot sunscreen is used for the body only. It is a bit greasy for my skin type on my face and didn’t leave the mattifying finish I would have liked – much like the majority of sunscreens, in fairness. Thankfully, it does leave an invisible finish with no with hue at all!

  • Final Verdict: Points lost for not being face-friendly, as it is specifically designed for the body.
  • Rating: 3.5/5
  • Price: €32, pharmacies nationwide and www.payot.ie

Swatches !!!

One spritz of each product,L: Uriage, R: Payot

Natural light,no flash

Neither of the two products left sunscreen marks or a white residue so that’s always a win if you’re going to be out showing your pins at the beach! 🙂

Top tips from skin experts at Uriage about staying protected in the sun:

  1. Try to avoid being out in the sun when it is at its hottest. This is generally around 10.30am -3.30pm in the summer months.
  2. Use your clothes to cover-up vulnerable areas and sit in the shade if it is at all possible.
  3. Find a hat that will provide extra cover. One with a 3 inch brim can give you adequate protection.
  4. It might sound obvious, but make sure to wear sunglasses to protect your eyes.
  5. Apply a broad-spectrum sunscreen to all areas of exposed skin, and when doing so make sure to use a sufficient amount of product, use two layers rather than one to be safe.
  6. Apply sunscreen 20 minutes before leaving the house, and importantly remember to reapply every 80 minutes or after any swimming or sweating even if using a waterproof formula.
  7. Kids love swimming when on holiday – but make sure that after they get out of the pool or sea that you dry them with a towel and reapply sun screen.
  8. Finally, do not forget to apply to these areas on yourself and young children – the top of the head, the ears, nape of the neck and also feet!

Twitter Facebook Instagram

*Both products were gifted, but all views remain my own. Full disclaimer here. 

Related Posts

  • 10000
    The sun is finally back! This means, we’ll have a few summer-related beauty posts with plenty of tips for keeping shiny skin in check – always a priority in summer weather! So are some of the first things that spring to mind when you think of summer? Ice-cream, light clothing, the…
  • 10000
    My final post for Acne Awareness Month will be about dealing with summer breakouts.  As you well know, our bodies produce more oil and perspiration tends to increase during the summer. This can lead to acne breakouts, which is why it is important to take extra care of your skin…
  • 10000
    They say it takes 21 days to form a habit: you leave mascara on your lashes today, you forget to wash your face tomorrow and before you know it, going to bed with a full face of makeup becomes a normal part of your life. Sleeping with makeup is probably one…
Posted on January 18, 2018

5 Primark beauty fragrances worth trying (all under a fiver!!!)

product review

If there is one sure thing that makes me immediately fall in love with a beauty product, it is how much I am captivated by its fragrance. Whether it’s a hair serum, a hand lotion or any other product whose primary function is completely unrelated to how it smells, what tends to seal the deal for me is the degree to which the scent of a beauty product blows my breath away – I know, how gullible!

So when I’m looking at the likes of perfumes and body sprays, I can be particularly harsh when placing judgement. This is why I was completely taken a back by some of the fragrances I recently came across in Penneys.

The aroma of some of these Primark fragrances not only take you to heaven, but they also keep you there! I won’t be surprised if you stock up on most – if not all – of these little gems after you’ve had a whiff of them! 🙂

1. Bombshell

Primark beauty fragrance, bombshell, €2.50, 20ml

Primark Beauty Fragrance, Bombshell, €2.50, 20ml

Bombshell oozes of femininity with its fruity notes. It is strong, but not overpowering. Sweet, but not weak – in other words, it smells exactly how it sounds! This bombshell perfume ranks up quite high in my list of favourites as it is currently my go-to scent for everyday wear.

  • Longevity: 3 – 4 hours
  • Price: €2.50
  • Rating: 5/5

2. Glamorous

Primark Beauty Fragrance, Glamorous, €2.50, 20ml

Primark Beauty Fragrance, Glamorous, €2.50, 20ml

Another highly feminine fragrance for your inner diva, Glamorous has a sensationally deep tone that is sweet and seductive. Due to the strong notes in this fragrance, it makes for a great evening perfume.  Not to mention the 20ml bottle makes it a great addition to your beauty bag must haves on your night out! 🙂

  • Longevity: 3 – 4 hours
  • Price: €2.50
  • Rating: 5/5

3. Amelie

Primark Beauty Fragrance, Amelie, €3.50, 150ml

Primark Beauty Fragrance, Amelie, €3.50, 150ml

The sensual floral notes of this body mist would take anyone’s breath away! It combines floral notes with wild fruit and a dash of vanilla. The warm captivating scent of this spray works for day wear and night wear – it is my ultimate fave right now, I always get compliments when I use it. Also, can we take a moment to admire the cute packaging?

  • Longevity: 3 – 4 hours
  • Price: €3.50
  • Rating: 1000% yes!!!!

4. PS… Sleep in Beauty Pillow & Body Spray

PS... Sleep in Beauty Pillow & Body Spray

PS… Sleep in Beauty Pillow & Body Spray

This body mist is slightly different from the others as it also serves as a pillow spray. The chamomile extracts in this spray has relaxing and soothing properties that will help put you in a relaxed mood almost instantly. One spritz of this will have a spa-like effect on the mind, body and soul.

  • Longevity: 1 – 2 hours
  • Price: €2.50
  • Rating: 4/5

5. PS… Love Your Selfie Body Mist

The candy-like undertone of this body mist smells so sweet, you could almost eat it! One whiff of this guy will undoubtedly bring you back to memory lane (a.k.a teen years). This body mist is fresh and light, making it ideal to wear on brighter days. It will make for the perfect holiday spray in the next coming months – or good to have on days you feel like reminiscing! 🙂

  • Longevity: 1 – 2 hours
  • Price: €2.50
  • Rating: 3.8/5

Have you tried any of these sprays? I would love to hear from you if you have! Feel free to tweet me @FilomenaKaguako 🙂

Twitter Facebook Instagram

Related Posts

  • 10000
    There’s nothing worse than setting your eyes on a new lippy, falling in love with it and then realising that it is way over your normal lipstick budget. ‘Steal or splurge?’ is the question I find myself asking when I’m trying to decide how badly I really need –or want…
  • 10000
    Any dedicated beauty junkie would tell you that there is a slight change in their makeup and beauty routine whenever there is a new season upon us. As the temperature is slowly dropping, it's time we ought to start thinking about products that will help our skin adapt to changing…
  • 10000
    Many women don’t have the confidence to wear a red lippy: some think they’re far too bright, while others would rather stick to a safer option. But, a good red lipstick can easily transform your look and give you that extra va va voom! Here are the five red lipsticks…
Posted on December 1, 2017

Herbalife products: yay or nay?

product review

Herbalife products

If you follow my Instagram story then you would know that I recently embarked on a Herbalife journey. For those of you who are unfamiliar with the brand, Herbalife is an international nutrition brand that provides a number of supplements and products for those looking to live a healthier and balanced life.

I would normally be a bit sceptical of any sort of brand that claims to offer the same – if not similar – nutritional value as whole foods as I would be quite firm on ensuring I get my nutrients from whole and fresh foods. But my sister spent the good part of last year, the year before and the year before that praising Herbalife so when the opportunity came to try a few of their products out it was a no brainer for me to give them a try!

Here are some of the products I’ve been using for the last couple of weeks 🙂

CR7 Drive

Herbalife CR7 Drive

Herbalife CR7 Drive

This product ranked quite high in my echelon of Herbalife faves – and it’s not because it was created by Cristiano Ronaldo! In fact, that had very little bearing on why took a liking towards it. The CR7 Drive is made of a light- tasting formula that enhances hydration during exercise and increases the performance of a workout.

One scoop of this product has  about 50 calories when mixed with 500ml water and has an incredibly refreshing taste. I take sips of this during my work out in place of just normal water and it always helps me excel during my workout and work up a good sweat.

Final Verdict: If it’s good enough for Ronaldo, it’s good enough for me! 🙂

Rate: 5/5

Price: €13.80 for a pack of 10 sachets

F1 Healthy Meal Nutritional Shake

Herbalife F1 Healthy Meal Nutritional Shake

Herbalife F1 Healthy Meal Nutritional Shake

I’ve never been one for meal replacements. It’s not something I would ever advocate for as I enjoy cooking and eating whole foods. So for the last few weeks I’ve been treating this product as a post work-out snack before my official meal or enjoying it as a dessert after my meal. It is incredibly convenient in that regard. Two scoops contain about 220 cals and 18g of protein when mixed with dairy-free milk and it is pretty filling on it’s own.

So while dieters use this best-selling product as a meal replacement to lose weight, I’ve been using this shake to help me get my calories up as I sometimes feel that I don’t eat enough calories during the day for my fitness goals. The vanilla flavour tastes amazing but it comes in about six other flavours too! Best part? It’s free from soya, lactose and gluten!

Final Verdict: It is incredibly filling and creamy to taste when mixed with milk. It does a stellar job at keeping sweet cravings at bay! 🙂

Rate: 5/5

Price: €39.05 for a 550g canister

Herbalife Aloe Concentrate

Herbalife Aloe Concentrate

Herbalife Aloe Concentrate

This product went down an absolute treat in my house – it didn’t even last a full week! For someone who isn’t yet versed at drinking water regularly during the day, this aloe concentrate helped me immensely. Three capsules of this concentrate gives water a citrus taste making it more likely to drink throughout the day.

A glass of this helps sooth the stomach and promotes good intestinal health so it almost works like a shower for your inside! It comes in three flavours – original, mango, mandarin and cranberry. I have yet to try cranberry and mandarin, but I have no doubt they’d create a refreshingly citrus drink too!

Final Verdict: It didn’t last a week in the house – that speaks for itself, really! 🙂

Rate: 1000% yes!

Price: €38.55 for a bottle of 31 servings

Herbalife Tea Concentrate

Herbalife Tea Concentrate

Herbalife Tea Concentrate

This product took some getting used to as I used a little bit too much powder the first time and it was very strong in tasting. That put me off and I literally hid it in the back of the press for weeks I know… But I have tried it again (the right way this time) and found that using the correct measurements make the world of a difference. The peach flavour tastes a bit like ice tea and it helps that this beverage can be consumed hot or cold!

I will start using it more regularly and getting a bit experimental with it to improve the taste as it provides a temporary thermogenic to the body, meaning it helps kick start your metabolism. It also contains caffeine so it can be used as an alternative to regular coffee – if one would dare to keep their energy levels up in a healthier way!

Final Verdict: I probably shouldn’t have give up on this so quickly considering all the benefits it has, fingers crossed I am more consistent with this 🙂

Rating: 3/5

Price: €27.60 for a 50g

Formula 2 Multivitamin Complex

Formula 2 Multivitamin Complex

Formula 2 Multivitamin Complex

As someone who recently started taking Vitamin D supplements, the idea of taking something that looks like medicine on a regular basis is becoming less and less daunting to me.

This product contains about 21 essential nutrients such as folic acid, calcium and iron. It contains antioxidant vitamins C, E and beta carotene which are all good for promoting healthy bones, skin and nails. It is to be taken three times a day with meals which can be a bit of an annoyance at times but I guess it’s just one of those things you have to do 🙂

Final Verdict: Multi-vitamins are a must in any diet, but I prefer taking them once a day!

Rating: 3.5/5

Price: €20.60

Herbalife Protein Bar

Herbalife Protein Bar

Herbalife Protein Bar

I genuinely feel like I need a drumroll for introducing this product – it is beyond heavenly! I literally have to talk myself out of overeating as I can easily devour a few in a day! But since it does have dairy ingredients I have to treat it as a ‘cheat snack,’ and that helps me control myself – well sometimes!

These bars are perfect for whenever I am feeling peckish and don’t want something too heavy. Each bar contains about 10g of protein and 140 calories – ten calories less than your average snack should have. It comes in four flavours and of the ones I’ve tried, the chocolate peanut butter is my favourite! Read more about it here.

Final Verdict: Can’t get enough of this!

Rating: 1000% yes

Price: €19.80 – 14 per box

Overall, my experience with Herbalife was surprisingly pleasant and I will continue to use some of these products in the future! Have you tried any Herbalife products before? If so, would love to know your thoughts! 🙂

Twitter Facebook Instagram

*These products were sent to me for review purposes, however all views remain authentically mine.

 

Related Posts

  • 10000
    If there is one thing that keeps me happy when I’m out and about, it’s the reassurance that I have nibbles in my handbag. I know, I know.... I am worse than a toddler – just feed me and I’ll be happy! I either make my own healthy treats at…
  • 10000
    If you follow me on social media, then you would know that I was recently sent some products from Pulsin & Beond, an award-winning health conscious food brand that specialises in guilt-free snacks and protein powders. As someone who’s spent the last couple of months using Pulsin Pea Protein powder,…
  • 10000
    A few months back I got a food intolerance test done for my skin. I was told I needed to avoid eggs, wheat and yeast to prevent my breakouts. It came as such a shock to me because there was a time in my life where I couldn't imagine going…
  • 58
    With summer just around the corner there can’t be a better time to start focusing on your healthy eating regime. As someone who is a huge advocate for fitness and healthy eating, I have decided to team up with Herbalife and run a competition so that one of you guys can…
    Tags: herbalife, concentrate, protein, shake, healthy, aloe, taste, water, helps, products
Posted on November 1, 2017

October beauty favourites!!!

product review

Happy first of November everyone, I hope you are all as unprepared for Christmas as I am – it’s just way too soon! As you can probably tell, I am still not over last month, so this blog post is going to be about some of my favourite beauty products over the last couple of weeks! 🙂

The Body Shop Vanilla Pumpkin Body Butter, €20.95*

I am a big fan of The Body Shop. I tend to obsess with most (if not, all) their beauty products. After having tried & sampled a number of products from this brand over the years, I have to say that the one thing I feel they do exceptionally well is scent – they are absolute masters in that department. Mind-blowing fragrances are something they seldom get wrong and this year’s Halloween range is yet another testament to that.

The Body Shop launched a collection of products themed around two indulging ingredients: vanilla & pumpkin. Of the products I sampled from The Vanilla Pumpkin range, the body butter is by far my favourite. It has a rich texture that leaves the skin feeling soft and moisturised. The spicy sweet smell is subtle, yet long lasting and I wouldn’t blame you for wanting to eat this stuff as it smells more than just a little edible – 100% yes from me! 🙂

Clarisonic Mia 2, €149.00

I’m sure some of you beauty junkies are thinking ‘this is old news,’ well I’ll tell you something. Just because something is old, it doesn’t make it ineffective! I actually bought this product a couple of years ago and absolutely hated it! It broke me out – which at the time, I didn’t understand was a normal purging process – so I stopped using it. Fast forward two years and I decided to give it another go, I thought my skin was so bad that I wouldn’t be losing much by trying it again.

I absolutely love it now and genuinely never feel ‘clean’ unless I use my Clarisonic. The cleansing system has over 300 movements per second to clean and soften the skin. All you need is 60 seconds around the face to remove makeup, impurities and excess sebum, leaving you with squeaky clean skin ready for a better skin care regime!

Neutrogena Light Therapy Acne Mask, €76.99*

If you follow me on social media then you would know that I was recently sent a Neutrogena Light Therapy Acne Mask. When I first tried it, I have to admit that I was rather nervous as it was nothing like I had ever seen before. But after a couple of tries, this innovative mask is growing on me.

This mask uses light therapy to target the bacteria that causes acne in the skin. As someone who has suffered with acne for as long as I can remember, I was excited to use this. I already love it so far, so cannot wait to see the end result in a few weeks from now. Best part? You get a spa-like treatment at home – and in only 10 minutes! 🙂

Skinade* collagen supplement

I have a second innovate skincare product worth mentioning on my list today, except this one can be consumed – Skinade.  This high performance anti-aging collagen drink combines six natural ingredients to improve the skin from the inside out.

It comes in either a ready-mixed 150ml bottle or 15ml sachet liquid concentrate – which is pretty handy if you’re looking to take one on the go! While I needed a 90-day course to see results, some people saw improvements in their skin after as little as 30 days of taking Skinade – changes in skin texture, complexion and overall suppleness.

Here are some of the pros and cons I found with this product:

Pros:

  • Natural peach flavour is very easy to drink
  • Free from lactose, gluten and dairy
  • It doesn’t contain hormones, gmos, added sugar, artificial flavours or colours
  • It uses natural ingredients
  • The liquid form offers an absorption rate of at least 90%

Cons:

  • It doesn’t cure skin conditions
  • Some may find it a bit pricey

To read more about how Skinade works or to buy a 30-day trial, have a look at their website.

Do you have any October favourites? If so, would love to hear what they are! Feel free to tweet me @FilomenaKaguako 🙂

Twitter   Facebook   Instagram

*Products marked with an asterisk were sent to me for review purposes, all views and opinions remain my own

Related Posts

  • 10000
    Hello all! I’m back from a short blogging break! :) Without getting into the details of why I needed to take a breather, let’s just say it was very much needed! As a sweet 'comeback,' I’ve decided on a short and light-hearted post for you guys – I think it…
  • 10000
    Is it just me, or did November just fly by? I can’t believe it is December already! The countdown has begun for the day we’ll all be stuffing our faces with roast turkey, creamy gravy and everything & anything that has even a pinch of cinnamon in it – that’s…
  • 10000
    I hope you all had a lovely Christmas and a fab New Years - I’m nearly certain I forgot to say it in my last blog post, sorry! But like always, I’ve been drooling over a couple of new products over the past few weeks and I just can’t help but share…
Posted on October 17, 2017

The Body Shop Amazonian Saviour Balm*

product review

For centuries, Amazonian communities have relied on potent natural ingredients to care for wounded and tattooed skin. These same natural oils are used to enrich our Amazonian Saviour Multi-Purpose Balm

If you know me personally, then you would know that I don’t just use the hashtag girls with ink for the heck of it – although I wouldn’t put it past me if I did, seeing that I have a habit of exaggerating with my hashtags….

Nonetheless, that particular hashtag is one that I use with good reason; I have a tattoo on my ankle. I’ve had it for about ten years at this stage and like any tattoo, it has faded overtime. So when the opportunity to try The Body Shop Amazonian Saviour Multi-Purpose Balm (€15.00) arose, I couldn’t turn it down.

This product has an oil-rich texture making it beneficial to use on more than just tatted skin. While it does a stellar job at reviving the appearance of tattoos, it also nourishes dry skin and is said to improve the appearance of skin marks.

The Body Shop Multi-Purpose Balm,€15.00

It is 100% vegetarian and only uses a total of nine natural-origin ingredients. Namely, sunflower seed oil, vitamin E, citric acid from citrus, cera bellina wax, community trade beeswax, organic andiroba oil, candeia tree’s bisabolol and community trade organic babassu oil.

The combination of these nine ingredients creates a nourishing multi-tasking beauty balm. But much like any beauty product, application is key to ensuring you get the most out of the ingredients.

Here are three unique techniques developed by skincare specialist Dr. Christine Choi Kim, designed to target tattoos, skin marks and dry skin.

The infinity massage

To enhance the vibrancy of healed tattoos:

  1. Polish tattoo with a gentle exfoliator
  2. Apply balm to clean, dry fingertips and trace the figure eight onto tattoo
  3. Repeat as often as needed
  4. Use SPF to protect tattoo

The hashtag massage

To help reduce the appearance of skin marks:

  1. Warm a small amount of the balm between clean, dry fingertips
  2. Apply with consistent pressure to skin marks tracing the hashtag symbol
  3. Finish using circular motions
  4. Use plenty of SPF

The raindrops massage

To moisturise dry skin:

  1. Apply the balm to hands, fingertips and cuticles
  2. Warm a small amount between fingertips and lightly tap dry-skinned areas with a ‘pitter-patter’ raindrops motion
  3. Finish with a light sweep over lips for extra conditioning

Massaing your skin is great for boosting circulation,bringing oxygen to the area and helping to remove toxins. It also warms the skin, which makes it easier for moisturising formulas to sink in

– Dr. Christine Choi Kim

The Body Shop Multi-Purpose Balm,€15.00

Have you got your paws on this Amazonian Saviour balm yet? If so, I’d love to hear from you! Feel free to tweet me @FilomenaKaguako 🙂

NOTE: €1.50 from every Amazonian Saviour Multi-Purpose Balm purchased will go towards building bio-bridges to help protect endangered species whilst enabling communities to live more sustainably. For more information, pop into The Body Shop or visit www.thebodyshop.ie

*This product was gifted to me, but all views remain my own

Twitter   Facebook   Instagram

Related Posts

  • 10000
    If you’re a fan of The Body Shop, then you will be very happy to hear that their New Voyage collection will be on the shelves and ready to make their way to your comforting homes, by the end of this week – let the countdown begin! With best-selling products…
  • 10000
    Summer might be well over, but that doesn’t mean we should stop pampering ourselves. If you know me at all, then you would know that I enjoy a relaxing bath: I play some soft music in the background, light up a few scented candles and just enjoy the moment. I…
  • 10000
    As you’ve probably guessed at this stage, I’m a complete junkie when it comes to The Body Shop. I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that I’m a big lover of taking soothing baths and I’m absolutely drawn to everything and anything that entices my…
  • 30
    Yesterday evening saw the launch of two new ranges from The Body Shop: Oils Of Life, a skincare range which uses natural seed oils to revive, replenish & revitalise the skin, and Spa Of The World, a collection of pampering-session products which were created using naturally sourced ingredients from different…
    Tags: body, shop, tattoo, ingredients, skin
Posted on August 9, 2017

Review: Glasses Shop

product review

Up until recently, I would have found the prospect of purchasing prescription glasses online ludicrous. Being someone who is quite set in their ways and always hesitant when it comes to taking seemingly big risks, I would have always had to muster up a whole lot of courage to buy any sort of glasses online without having tried them on first.

So when I was approached by GlassesShop.com to do a collaboration with them on their newest styles of eyeglasses and sunglasses, I wasn’t entirely sure about what to make of it or which glasses to choose until I slowly started to fall in love with the different frames on their website. For someone who usually sticks to the simple black plastic rectangular frame, you would think the decision to choose a complimentary pair of glasses would be easy – it wasn’t.

From the cat eye look to aviator frames, I was spoiled for choice,making the decision even harder. So after bombarding different Whatsapp groups with pictures of my top ten frames – I know, that many! I finally decided on a pair that looked incredibly different to what I would normally go.

I sent on the frame details to GlassesShop.com along with my Rx and PD and within two weeks my prescription glasses arrived!

When I first tried them on, I was a bit taken aback as it was a completely new look for me. I always knew that the glasses I had been wearing until now didn’t show off my eyes enough as my eyes are quite big for someone who has a small face, so the larger frame of my new glasses really worked for me.

I was especially impressed by the fit also. I didn’t have to get any adjustments at all, they just sit perfectly on my face –  and now the more I wear them, the more they’re growing on me!

What I particularly like about shopping on GlassesShop.com is that they seem to have something for nearly everyone. There is a wide selection of styles, shapes and frames to choose from and if you are anything like me and get nervous about shopping for glasses online, then you might find their guide on how to choose the right eyeglasses incredibly helpful.

Another bonus for using this site to buy glasses online is that you can also get prescription sunglasses and all their prescription glasses come with a 90-day quality guarantee so it’s a win:win really!

I have finally gotten over my fear of buying eyeglasses online, now it’s time for you to do the same! I have a special coupon code GSHOT50  that gives you 50% off any eyeglasses or sunglasses with free lenses (with the exception of sale frames) It might just make the decision for you to buy a pair of glasses online, a little bit easier! 🙂

Disclaimer: This item was gifted to me by GlassesShop.com but all thoughts and opinions remain my own.

Twitter   Facebook   Instagram

Posted on May 1, 2017

April favourites!!!

product review

IMG_0527

Hello everyone, I hope you’re all enjoying your long weekend! I spent Saturday afternoon filming a story time video for YouTube. I shared a story about the time I thought I kissed an American – don’t ask. Just reserve your judgment for after you’ve listened to my story *straight face emoji*

Today’s blog post is going to be less amusing as I will be giving you a roundup of my ultimate beauty faves over the past few weeks. But don’t worry. I might not have you in stitches, but at least I can help you achieve flawless skin this summer after these lil gems become part of your life 🙂

Differin Adapalene 0.1%, prescription only

differin

If you suffered from acne at any point in your life, then you would know how much of a nightmare it can be to find a cream to treat it or foundation to cover it. My nightmare has finally come to an end (for now) since my doctor prescribed me with Differin, a gentle retinoid drug that is quite aggressive in how it treats acne. I won’t go into too much detail of this product because I do plan on doing a full review for acne awareness month! But for the moment, take my word – this product is a holy grail for acne prone skin. The key with Differin is to USE IT PROPERLY – a pea size amount before bed will suffice. In the first week I overused it and it burnt the face off me, so make sure you follow the instructions. Do your research and speak to your doctor about getting a prescription as it did absolute wonders for my hormonal/cystic adult acne.

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Gelee Milk Cleanser, Boots, €10.99

hydro boost

There is just something about a no rinse cleanser that I can’t seem to get enough of. This gel like cleanser combines “the lightness of a gel with the  efficacy of a make-up remover milk.” It has been my go-to makeup remover and cleanser after a night out – a few pumps on a cotton pad and voila, the makeup is gone! What I like the most about this product is that it works with the skin’s natural moisture system to restore, replenish and give it that healthy glow. It contains Hyaluronic acid, which is naturally found in the skin meaning your skin gets an extra boost with little to no effort! Other makeup removing products in this range worth trying are the Hydro Boost Water Gel Cleanser and and Hydro Boost Micellar Water both €10.99 in Boots.

Fruit of The Earth Aloe twin pack, Mc Cabes Pharmacy, €7.00

aloe vera

This lotion actually started off as my ‘gym lotion.’ For the non-gym goers out there, that simply means I bought it solely for using after a shower in the gym. The words aloe, natural, and skin-cooling stood out to me immediately and given the price, I thought I wouldn’t lose much if I didn’t get any benefits from it. Much to my surprise, this lotion now has a permanent place in both my gym bag and bedroom. The triple action formula always leaves my skin soft, smooth and nourished – all the properties it most definitely needs after my frequent sessions in the steam room!

Payot Huile Elixir* 100ml, selected salons

payot

If there’s one thing to know about me, it is this – I’m obsessed with scents. And I don’t just mean perfumes here. Scented candles, scented body oils, Febreeze (yes, I kid you not). So it wouldn’t take a genius to figure out why this multi-purpose oil stole my heart within seconds of using. It has quite a unique long lasting smell that reminds me of summer– it combines myrrh, amyris extracts, balsamic plants, vegetable oils, rice, hazelnut and almond. But of course, it does more than just smell nice. This dry oil repairs and nourishes both the hair and body. I’ve been using it at the ends of my hair or on my legs when I show off my pins! Given the weather forecast for this week, I’ll be doing a lot of that! )

Faux Mink Lash Extensions, Hush Lash Lounge* Naas, €120

hush lash

For my birthday in March, I treated myself with some false lashes. I have always been quite reluctant about getting false lashes for two main reasons: 1) my real lashes are naturally quite long and 2) false lashes tend to scare me. But I had been flirting with the idea of getting a lash lift the weeks prior to my birthday, so when I was gifted with a voucher to get lash extensions at Hush Lash Lounge, I took it as a sign that longer lashes were meant for me! Expert lash stylist Rachel Byrne was very understanding and accommodating after I expressed my concern for wanting to keep the extensions  as natural looking as possible. She recommended the baby doll look for me as it would open my eyes more.

IMG_0521

Not only am I impressed by the results of, but I also can’t get over the fact that they’ve lasted me so this long – five weeks later and I still have them. That is remarkable, especially for someone who practically lives in the steam room! My lash extensions were undeniably my ultimate beauty fave over the last couple of weeks as it made wearing makeup so much easier too . For more price listings have a look at the www.hushlashlounge.ie

Have you tried any of these products? Tweet me if you have! 🙂

Twitter   Facebook   Instagram

(*)These products or services were gifted to me by a PR company. However all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Related Posts

  • 10000
    I was introduced to a number of new products in the last few weeks; some of which I couldn’t put down, and others I know I’ll probably never use! These little gems made it to the ‘couldn’t put down’ list as they are my ultimate February faves! :) Yves Saint…
  • 10000
    It’s never too late to talk about favourites, especially when it comes to the products I plan on sharing with you today! In the last few weeks some of these gems have been an absolute saviour to me. So sit back and relax while I let you in on what products…
  • 10000
    Hello everyone, I hope you’re all having a good weekend! For those of you going to Beyoncé  tonight: I hate you. Now that we’ve cleared that up, here is a roundup of the products I’ve been loving over the past few weeks :) Dove Derma Spa Youthful Vitality Hand Treatment* 75ml,…
  • 32
      THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED. THE WINNER IS EMMA LEAH MULLAN! THANKS TO EVERYONE WHO TOOK PART AND DO KEEP AN EYE OUT ON THE BLOG FOR MORE COMPETITIONS TO COME :) My go-to makeup remover at the moment is the Neutrogena Hydro Boost Gelee Milk. I first featured…
    Tags: will, neutrogena, remover, milk, makeup, skin, €, boost, hydro, products
Posted on November 1, 2016

October Favourites!!!

product review

20161101_090312

Hello all! I’m back from a short blogging break! 🙂 Without getting into the details of why I needed to take a breather, let’s just say it was very much needed!

As a sweet ‘comeback,’ I’ve decided on a short and light-hearted post for you guys – I think it would be wise to save the heavier topics for when you’ve all recovered from the abandonment issues I’ve left you with!

So without further ado, here are the top three makeup products that I couldn’t take a break from over the past few weeks:

YOUNGBLOOD Contour Palette, €43

20161101_090350

Anyone who knows me would tell you that I am all about the natural look. I don’t like when my face looks or feels cakey as I find it rather uncomfortable. I never have that problem with this  little gem as it is light, breathable and adds a natural glow to your skin while adding definition to your face at the same time. It has three shades for highlighting and three for contouring, so it is suitable for a number of different skin tones. It is small and compact, and has everything you need for a natural chiseled look! Available online on Youngblood Ireland Direct.

Too Faced Melted Matte Drop Dead Red, €23, Debenhams

too-faced-meltedmatte

If you follow me online or in real life (whatever you’re into), then you would know that I’ve recently added two more lippies to my Too Faced collection. To say I am in love with my new buys would be a complete understatement! The two shades look quite similar in the photo , but when you have them on they’re incredibly different. The Melted Chocolate leaves more of a glossy finish, while the Melted matte glides on like a gloss, but then dries to an ultra-matte finish. I’m a massive fan of matte lippies as well as dark shades so I felt like the Melted Matte in Drop Dead Red was made for me! If you’ve been on the hunt for the perfect Autumn lippy, your search ends now 🙂

Benefit KA-BROW Eyebrow Cream-Gel Colour, €26 , Arnotts

ka-brow-benefit

Again, if you know me at all, you would know that I am brow crazy. I wouldn’t be one to judge others on their appearance, but if there is anything I’d call someone out on, it is their brows – sorry, not sorry! A defined brow makes the world of a difference to your face. This Benefit ka-BROW has exactly what you need to achieve flawless brows. This cream gel comes with an angled brush on the cap which you can use to go from a day look to a night. It is buildable, longlasting and waterproof – no need to worry about the rain washing your brows off, we do live in Ireland after all!

Have you tried any of these products!? Would love to hear your thoughts ! Tweet me @FilomenaKaguako 🙂

Twitter   Facebook   Instagram

20161101_094256

Related Posts

  • 10000
    Is it just me, or did November just fly by? I can’t believe it is December already! The countdown has begun for the day we’ll all be stuffing our faces with roast turkey, creamy gravy and everything & anything that has even a pinch of cinnamon in it – that’s…
  • 10000
    I hope you all had a lovely Christmas and a fab New Years - I’m nearly certain I forgot to say it in my last blog post, sorry! But like always, I’ve been drooling over a couple of new products over the past few weeks and I just can’t help but share…
  • 10000
    It’s never too late to talk about favourites, especially when it comes to the products I plan on sharing with you today! In the last few weeks some of these gems have been an absolute saviour to me. So sit back and relax while I let you in on what products…
  • 40
    So this day last week, I did something different.  I got myself a product I wouldn’t normally go for. I’ve always been a matte girl when it comes to lippies, so any lip product with a bit of a gloss tends to scare me – think hair down on a…
    Tags: day, glossy, faced, finish, matte, melted, gloss, colour, three, €
Back to top
%d bloggers like this: